ALL visitors will need to pre-book an entry timeslot online in advance of their visit, including Friends of Beamish members and Beamish Unlimited Pass holders. Find out more here.
As always the safety of our visitors, staff and volunteers always comes first and it is compulsory for visitors, staff and volunteers to wear face coverings in shops and on public transport (unless exempt). We request that masks are worn within all of our indoor exhibits and on board our transport.
Experience life in The 1900s Pit Village, showing a colliery community at the time of peak coal production in the North East.
Francis Street – No. 4 open, No. 2 & 3 viewing only
The Francis Street cottages came to Beamish from Hetton-le-Hole, on Wearside, and were originally built in the early 1860s by Hetton Coal Company. Six of the original row of 27 homes were moved to the museum in 1976 and rebuilt in our 1900s Pit Village.
Explore this terrace of miners’ cottages – No.2 is the Methodist family’s home, in No.3 live a family of Irish descent, No.4 is home to a widow who lost her husband in a pit accident, and the Colliery Pay Office is at the end.
Look out for the communal bread oven in the back lane – where there may be some delicious home-made bread baking.
Davy’s Fried Fish Shop – Open, takeaway service
Try our delicious fish and chips, cooked the traditional way in coal-fired ranges using beef dripping. Not to be missed!
Please note, vegetarian chips are not currently available from Davy’s Fried Fish Shop. We apologise for any inconvenience.
School – Open
Our school building came from East Stanley, a couple of miles from the museum, and originally opened in 1892.
Practise the 3Rs in the schoolroom (watch out for the stern teacher) before trying your hand at playground games. Can you master the booler?
Hetton Silver Band Hall – Open
Discover the region’s proud colliery band heritage in this century-old band hall, that was rebuilt at Beamish after being donated by former band members.
Pit Pony Stables – Open
Meet our pit ponies and discover their work down the region’s mines – the Durham coalfield had 22,000 ponies in 1913.
Chapel – Open
Pit Hill Chapel – which once stood in nearby Beamish village – is a typical early-1900s Wesleyan Methodist chapel, hosting choirs, services and community events.
Sinkers’ Bait Cabin – Open, takeaway service
Tuck into snacks from the Sinkers’ Bait Cabin – the sinkers were the men who sank new mine shafts and their huts acted as canteens and places to dry out.