The Remaking Beamish project will add to the museum’s existing attractions. Plans include a 1950s Town, 1950s Farm, expansion of the Georgian area, including an inn where visitors will be able to stay overnight, and exciting transport additions.
Buildings from around the region will be moved or replicated and we are working with communities to share their heritage. They will create new ways for our visitors to experience the heritage of the North East.
Beamish will remain open throughout the £20million project, which has received funding from The National Lottery Heritage Fund, and buildings will be opened as they are completed.
The Northern General Transport Bus Depot opened in November 2019 and houses the museum’s fleet of buses. Visitors can see work being carried out on historic vehicles, and apprenticeships will ensure heritage skills are being passed on.
The 1950s has been brought to life at the museum with the opening of the welfare hall. The exhibit is a replica of Leasingthorne Colliery Welfare Hall and Community Centre, near Bishop Auckland, which opened in 1957. Beamish worked closely with the community members at the original hall – now known as Coundon and Leeholme Community Centre – who shared memories, stories and objects.
The hall, which opened in June 2019, hosts 1950s activities for visitors to enjoy, including music, dancing, crafts, keep fit and amateur dramatics, and it also features an NHS clinic. Click on The 1950s Town section below to find out about this building and others in the new 1950s Town.
The quilter’s cottage, which opened in July 2018, was the first exhibit to open as part of the project. The heather-thatched cottage shares the story of quilter Joseph Hedley. Discover more about this story in The 1820s Landscape section below.
Thanks to money raised by National Lottery players, the Remaking Beamish project has been awarded £10.9million by The National Lottery Heritage Fund.